2021 Time Trial Season Review

We had an unprecedented entry of 105 riders for the Open 36 miles Charlbury Hilly, on 24th April. Was this due to pent up demand for racing post whichever lockdown it was (I can’t keep up!), or an increasing desire to compete on sporting courses? The winner was Sebastian Dickson of Aerolabs Ward Wheelz in a time of 1-23-48, with the fastest female being Caitlin Peters of Liv Awol in as time of 1-40-09. Fastest Oxonian was George Jackson with a time of 1-40-46.

Returning to the fast A420 based courses June 6th saw the running of the Open 50 Raven’s Bowl trophy event won by Matthew Brooke of Socks4Watts Race Team in a time of 1-45-38, with Lizi Duncombe also of Socks4Watts the fastest female with a time of 1-56-47. Fastest Oxonians were Alex Donger with 1-49-46, and Emma McDermott with 2-21-35. Alex takes the Falck Shield as fastest Oxonian.

The Open 25 for the Freddie Green Memorial trophy on 27th June was taken by local fast man Tony Turner of Mickey Cranks in a time of 51-45 whilst Ingrid Salisbury of Mercedes AMG Petronas CC was fastest female with 1-01-13. Fastest Oxonian was James Hunt with 1-02-56.

Finally, the Open 10 for the Tom Pearce Memorial Trophy on 11th July was won by Luke Norris of Banbury Star CC in a time of 19-52, with fastest female again being Ingrid Salisbury of AMG Petronas CC with 23-09. Alex Donger with 21-09 was the fastest Oxonian.

In the Ladies National 10 mile championship on 11th September Anne Warren was the fastest veteran with a time of 26-01 on a very sporting course.

The Wednesday evening TT League finished up as follows with Division 1 won by Mark Tyrell, Division 2 by Steve Parfitt, Division 3 James Hunt with Anne Warren the leading lady promoted to Division 2 for 2022, and Division 4 a returning Phil Strongman. The Road Bike Division winners are John Westwood and Sally Thompson, respectively.

On the 30th of August the Leiden Plaque inter club team handicap event was held on the sporting Charlbury Hilly course. Last year’s winners Banbury Star kindly brought the trophy to the event and promptly took it home again! All this despite Oxonians organising and handicapping the event. Maybe we will fare better next year when Micky Cranks will be organising.

If you have a claim to any of the TT trophies for 2021 now is the time to submit your claims. The criteria for each trophy are listed under Club Trophies at this link. Where a Trophy is awarded for performance across several events, the TT events qualifying for Trophies are shown in the Trophy column of the Events Program for 2021 below;

Trophies already decided are:

  • John Bull Trophy: (Club 100 champion) Alex Donger
  • Falck Shield: (Open 50) Alex Donger
  • K B May Cup: (Hill Climb) Alex Donger
  • Broadribb Cup: (Club 25 champion) Mark Tyrrell
  • Bayliss Cup: James Hunt

Congratulations to Alex, Mark, and James.

I look forward to receiving the claims for our many other trophies, by 31st December please.

Contact Us

Send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.