90th Anniversary Dinner

26 February 2017

A week on and the dust has settled. But what an evening! We were amused and amazed by Steve Rowe performing his magic at the various tables as we dined. Simon Brotherton gave the 80 Oxonians and friends a remarkable behind the scenes look at broadcasting from the Rio Olympics and the African Cup, before a brief history of the club and proposing a toast to the club.

Simon went on to present the trophies, and stayed on to chat with members and guests long after the completion of formal proceedings. The raffle provided some lucky members with quality prizes to take home including club jerseys signed by Chris Boardman and Victoria pendleton, cycling accessories and vouchers provided by the trade.

Martin Howard was made an Honorary Life member in recognition of his eight years as Chairman. A special award in the form of a cyclist sculpture was presented to Dennis Quantrill for twenty five years’ service on the club committee, as custodian of  our  trophies, and timekeeping over the years. Both these awards were presented by club President Mick Bowen.

Events like this take considerable planning and commitment from various individuals to make it happen. We acknowledge the efforts of Malcolm and Dawn Rose, Dennis Quantrill, Steve Legge, Calum Murray and Harriet English in ensuring the event was a success. Our thanks are also due to Bikezone, BeeLine Bikes and Mickey Cranks for their generous donation of raffle prizes, and the Managing Agencies of Chris Boardman and Victoria Pendleton for the signed jerseys. Thanks also to Steve Legge and Phil Fowler for their photographs which you can view on our Facebook page.

Here’s to the Centenary!




Tom Pearce Trophy Open 10                                Jon Simkins Drag2zero

Freddie Green Open 25                                        Tim Cartwright Newbury CC

Ravens BowlOpen 50                                          Tim Cartwright Newbury CC                               


Broadribb Cup Clubchampionship 25                Malcolm Rose

Bayliss Cup handicap 25                                    Ian Radburn

Burnceaster Cup                                                 Malcolm Rose

Falck Shield Club 50 championship                    Malcolm Rose

John Bull Cup                                                     Matt Robson

Burden Stone Cupshort distance BAR               Mat Rowley

Giles Cycles Shield Henley and back                Malcolm Rose

K B May CupHill climb                                         Greg Fitzek

Sir Walter Grey Cup                                            Malcolm Rose

Steve Hawkes Trophy most Open events           Malcolm Rose

Women’s evening 10s                                         Anna Key

Chainring Trophy                                                Steve Rogers

Gilbert Fitchett Trophy Club support                  Jeff King

Cis Morris Cup women’s achievement                Harriet English

Junior  BAR                                                         Matthew Thornton

Juvenile Cup                                                        Matthew Thornton

Road Race Cup                                                    Greg Fitzek

Strava Challenge                                                 Paul Renshaw

Geoff Walker Cyclo Cross Trophy                     Robin Akers

Veteran’s Cyclo Cross Cup                                Robin Akers

Senior Cyclo Cross                                             Paul Warren

Junior Cyclo Cross                                              Matthew Thornton

Youth Cyclo Cross Trophy                                 Jack Southfield

Under-12 Cyclo Cross                                         Alex Taylor

Most improved rider                                            Colin Fisher

Club Time Trial League

Div 1                                                                      Malcolm Rose

Div 2                                                                       Ewan MacDonald

Div 3                                                                       Matthew Thornton

Div 4                                                                       Steve Legge

Contact Us

Send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.